MCM’s Party With a Purpose Honors Non-Profits, Officials

During MyMCM’s first annual Party with a Purpose Wednesday night in the Silver Spring Civic Center, outgoing Nancy Navarro was saluted for her 13 years on the county council receiving the Montgomery County Public Service Award.

During her acceptance speech, she spoke of the important role of local media and the work of MCM.

Vernon Ricks, former Takoma Park councilmember and mayor and mentor to many, was awarded the Montgomery County Local Trailblazer Award. He was introduced by Councilmember Will Jawando.

MCM shared video stories of the great work of Manna Food Center, which received the Montgomery County Humanitarian Award, and Mercy Health Clinic, which was awarded the Montgomery County Good Neighbor Award.

MCM also feted the six incoming female councilmembers. Their elections hiked the female composition of the council from one to six. Seated on the 2023 county council will be Kate Stewart, Natali Fani Gonzalez, Kristin Mink, Dawn Luedtke, Marilyn Balcombe and Laurie-Anne Sayles.

It was a night in which former, current and newly elected Montgomery County officials enjoyed foods, drinks and great music by the Albert Einstein Jazz Band.

Former Councilmember Valerie Erwin, current members Gabe Albornoz, Evan Glass, Nancy Navarro, Jawando and Andrew Friedson mingled with incoming members Stewart, Sayles, Luedtke, Balcombe, Laurie-Anne Sayles and Gonzalez.

Montgomery County Board of Education President Brenda Wolff attended as did former member Jill Ortman-Fouse. Police Chief Marcus Jones chatted and posed for photos with former Chief Tom Manger, now chief of the U.S. Capitol Police.

Takoma Park mayors Ricks, Stewart and newly elected Talisha Searcy all attended.

Write a Comment

Related Articles